This Queen Anne style brick house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is in an officially recognized historic district. It sits on a bluff overlooking the south bank of the Missouri river. Built in 1880 by Charles Vollrath, the home remained in the family until 1965.    Mr. Vollrath was Secretary and Treasurer of Sombart Milling Co. 

The document at the left is an original letter of land patent grandted by President James Monroe in 1822.

Be sure to click on this link to find fascinating facts about Boonville's rich history.

The house contains three sets of beautiful pocket doors and the original combination gas/electric light fixtures. 

From 1965 - 1973 the home was used as the Red Door restaurant, so named for the beautiful Bohemian red glass panes in the main entrance door and transom. In 1973 it was converted back to a home. The red panes no longer exist in the front door. 

In 2004 Gene and Kriss Royer purchased the home. They opened the B&B in 2008. The current owner is dedicated to continuing the tradition Gene and Kriss's excellent hospitality-from its beautiful and individualized period room decorations to the lovely gardens to the excellent menu. 

We take pride in providing a unique lodging experience and excellent service for our guests. 

Letter of Land Patent, granted by President James Monroe in 1822
 
Visitors enjoy the many unique features of the house and gardens. 
 Original wood mantels and woodwork                Vintage ironwork fireplace covers                        Stained glass
            Lovely hardwood floors                             Vintage furnishings, knick-knacks and books
Both vintage and new beautiful glass lamps and lighting shades
Peaceful garden waterfall 
Private outdoor courtyard with original brickwork and iron decor
Friendly front porch overlooking Main Street 
HomeBackyard and GardensRooms & RatesPolicies
Breakfasts & SnacksUnique Features & HistoryWeddingsLocal Attractions
Contact Us/Directions